I’m Back

So I have ignored this for a while and I think I want to come back.  I want to review a few new kitchen gadgets I have squired this fall thanks to Dianne.   The first is the Brevelle Smoker Gun.  This small devise takes a small amount of wood chips and turns it into flavor infused smoke.  We got it to make smoked drinks like ones we had in New York City’s Tanner Smith’s  .  But we have added smoke to many things included hamburgers, salmon and butter.  It is a simple thing but in the end it is also just a lot of fun and makes the house smell like a campfire sometimes.

The next thing I have always wanted to cook using the sous vide technique.  Sous vide means under vacuum and it is a cooking food that are in vacuumed sealed bags in a controlled environment like a circulating water bath at a steady temperature.  The restaurant quality equipment for this style of cooking costs $1000s but Anova makes a wand to put in a container that creates a quality circulatory out of a pot or other container for under $100.  We also got a new vacuum sealer that has been quite fun to use.

So far having had several days off in December we have enjoyed playing with our food.  From a sous vide steak that was later smoked during the final sear.  Salmon fillets that were perfectly cooked (sous vide is somewhat idiot proof) and Shabbat dinner was seared duck breast served medium after 2 hours in the water back.

I like cooking simple food.  But I love to try new ways of exploring both style and flavor in the kitchen.  These new toys will help.  I think I am going to practice with these and then start creating my own recipes and post here.  As 2017 comes to an end I am excited that I will be spending more time playing with my food.  It could keep me from being frustrated dealing with social media and the news.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.